slider wave

Zoning Board of Appeals

Zoning Board of Appeals is a seven-member board that meets the first Thursday of each month (December meeting always the first Wednesday) at 7:30 p.m. Positions are filled by Council appointment for three-year terms. Board members must be Village residents.

The ZBA is a quasi-judicial board that exercises three basic functions: 1) Interpreting the ordinance (text and map); 2) Deciding the appeals of administrative decisions. and 3) Granting variances (use and non-use).  Attendance at planning and zoning seminars is encouraged for members, at Village expense. A knowledge of the Zoning Ordinance and State Enabling Act would be expected to allow board members to review dimensional and use variance requests and interpretations of the zoning ordinance.

Zoning Board of Appeals Members
Chairman Dan Hawley
Vice Chairman  Marco Palazzolo 
Planning Commission Liaison Karen Worrell
Kristi Stempien
Matthew Karls
Steve Doane
John Kuzmich

Alternate members:
Doug Goodhue

If you are interested in serving on the Zoning Board of Appeals, please contact Shannon Warner at (248) 684-1515 or at